It was June 2004 when I was so eager to get my OJT schedule from my dream company here in Cebu, yes; Lexmark it is. However, the excitement turned into a nightmare when the doctor told me I had a thyroid condition. I needed to undergo a surgery so my chance in working for LRDC remained to be a dream. But fast forward; 8 years after…. December 2012, I tried to apply as a Software Engineer and 2 weeks after, I received one of the unexpected first call for 2013. ^__^ Woohooo!

Hmmmm.. I’m actually lazy to elaborate more, so let me just give you the timeline.

January 10 – The unexpected phone call. Bry scheduled me for an interview @ 1pm the next day.

January 11 – Bry called in the morning that my interview will be moved to Monday, January 14. But, 6:30pm, she called me again that another hiring manager wants to interview me! Oh what a happy me! 😀

January 14 – @1pm, I had my first interview and boy oh boy, the manager said “I enjoyed the interview”. @2pm, My 2nd interview was a speedy. Overall, I feel positive about both interviews. But was having second thoughts about the first one as they really need a Java developer which I’m not. 😦

January 15 – @10am, Bry called that I passed the first interview! wooooootttt!!! Tears fell, I’m just so happy!

January 16 – Bry called and informed me about the Conference call with the Lexington counterparts.

January 17 – I had the technical conference call with two of the counterparts in Lex. Also, I had a great news that Zariba, a European company that I applied for last November finally hired me as an IOS game developer. I’ve been waiting for it for sooo long.  *wink* Torn between dream job and dream company eh?

January 21 – I’m in for “The” final interview! Zariba on the other hand wanted me to work @ February 1! O oh!

January 23 – Final interview! Thank God the process is over. Nothing is certain with Lexmark as of the moment but I’m wishing and praying.

January 25 – Someone said it’s POSITIVE! That’s all I needed to hear so I can turn down Zariba.

And the process of salary analysis, background investigation and laboratory examination took me loooong as I had my menstruation and it hampered my final PE which I am so dying to finish ‘coz I have to undergo what had transpired 9 years ago. What if the doctor won’t give me the “Fit to work” approval?

By February 4, I got two great news, I’m in for a Job offer and for final physical examination on the 5th! And because God is so good, I had the “fit to work” signed at the footnote of my record, I was overjoyed!!!

The excitement never ceases until February 11, I can proudly say, “Lexmark ko bai!”

Leave a comment